19.—Legislatures and Premiers of Ontario, 1934-54, and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1954
Legislatures, 1934-54;

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of	
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution	
June 19, 1934 Oct. 6, 1937 Aug. 4, 1943 June 4, 1945 June 7, 1948 Nov. 22, 1951	19th General Assembly. 20th General Assembly. 21st General Assembly. 22rd General Assembly. 23rd General Assembly. 24th General Assembly.	2	Feb. 20, 1935 Dec. 1, 1937 Feb. 22, 1944 July 16, 1945 Feb. 10, 1949 Feb. 21, 1952	Apr. 9, 193 June 30, 194 Mar. 24, 194 Apr. 27, 194 Oct. 6, 195	

¹ The Ministries from 1934-54 were: 11th Ministry, sworn in July 10, 1934, under the leadership of Hon. M. F. Hepburn; 12th Ministry, sworn in Oct. 21, 1942, under the leadership of Hon. G. D. Conant; 13th Ministry, sworn in May 18, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. H. C. Nixon; 14th Ministry, sworn in Aug. 17, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. George A. Drew; 15th Ministry, sworn in Oct. 10, 1948, under the leadership of Hon. Thomas I. Kennedy; 16th Ministry, sworn in May 4, 1949, under the leadership of Hon. Leslie M. Frost.
² Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1954.

Sixteenth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, Nov. 22, 1951: 79 Progressive Conservatives, 8 Liberals, 2 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation and 1 Labour-Progressive.)

North	 headnote	t n	Table 1	

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment	
Premier, President of the Council and Provincial Treasurer. Minister of Highways. Attorney General. Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Labour. Provincial Secretary and Registrar. Minister of Public Welfare. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Travel and Publicity. Minister of Lands and Forests. Minister without portfolio. Minister of Health. Minister of Reform Institutions. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Mines. Minister of Planning and Development.	Hon, Mackinnon Phillips	Aug. 17, 1943 May 8, 1944 July 31, 1931 Aug. 17, 1943 Jan. 7, 1945 Apr. 15, 1946 Apr. 15, 1946 Oct. 19, 1948 July 15, 1949 July 15, 1949 Aug. 8, 1950 Oct. 2, 1951 June 3, 1952	May 4, 1949 Aug. 17, 1943 Aug. 17, 1943 Aug. 17, 1943 Aug. 17, 1943 Jan. 7, 1945 Jan. 20, 1953 Oct. 19, 1948 June 3, 1952 Oct. 19, 1948 June 3, 1952 Oct. 2, 1951 Jan. 20, 1953 June 3, 1952 Jan. 20, 1953	

Subsection 7.-Manitoba

Besides its Lieutenant-Governor, Manitoba has a Provincial Executive composed of 10 members and a Legislative Assembly of 57 members, elected for a statutory term of five years. The Honourable John Stewart McDiarmid, the present Lieutenant-Governor of the Province, was commissioned to office Aug. 1, 1953. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 94.

The Premier of the Province is paid a salary of \$10,000 per annum and each of the other Members of the Cabinet \$8,000. Members of the Legislature are each paid an indemnity of \$2,000 and an expense allowance of \$1,000. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an additional amount of \$2,500 and the Speaker of the Legislature an additional amount of \$2,500.